India meet New Zealand in World Cup semi-final - Ten Sports Live, Cricket, Foot Ball and News -


Post Top Ad

Tuesday, 9 July 2019

India meet New Zealand in World Cup semi-final

MANCHESTER: After weeks of close encounters and edge of the seat thrillers, Bharat will take on NZ in the first semi-final of the ICC World Cup at Old Trafford in Manchester today.

So, the contest will be a repeat of the semi-finals of the 2k08 ICC Under-19 WC today ,in which a indian captainVirat Kohli-led India defeated a kane Williamson-captained New Zealand.

India, whose group match against 2k15 runners-up New Zealand (NZ) was washed out, have suffered just 1 defeat at this ICC World Cup so far, against England, and at the ended on top of the ten-team group stage, making them strong favourites to beat the New Zealand.

The Kiwis who were deemed favourites at the start of the tournament kicked off their ICC World Cup campaign on a high, but suffered defeats and only qualified for the semi-finals in 4th  place on the basis of net run-rate. They lost their last 3 games — against Pakistan, holders Australia and England.

For NZ, skipper Keen Williamson has been in fine form, making match-winning hundreds against South Africa (SA) and the West Indies (WI).

But the rest of the top order have had a largely forgettable ICC World Cup, with the Black Caps losing Thirteen wickets in the powerplay at just 23.38 each — the worst record in the competition.

Kane Williamson's 481 tournament runs represent nearly 29 % of New Zealand's (NZ) total at this ICC World Cup.

On the other hand, India’s success at this ICC World Cup has been built on the heavy scoring of a Rohit Sharma-led batting top order.

Rohit Sharma became the 1st  batsman to score 5 centuries in a single ICC World Cup when he made 103 in a 7-wicket win over Sri Lanka (SL) at Headingley.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli is also renowned for relishing the big occasion.
The match between India and New Zealand will start at 2:30pm Pakistan Standard Time.
1. Virat Kohli (c),
2. Jasprit Bumrah,
3. Yuzvendra Chahal,
4. MS Dhoni (wk),
5. Ravindra Jadeja,
6. Kedar Jadhav,
7. Dinesh Karthik,
8. Hardik Pandya,
9. Rishabh Pant,
10. KL Rahul,
11. Mohammed Shami,
12. Mayank Agarwal,
13. Rohit Sharma,
14. Kuldeep Yadav

New Zealand:
1. Kane Williamson (c),
2. Ross Taylor,
3. Tom Latham (wk),
4. Tom Blundell (wk),
5. Mitchell Santner,
6. Colin de Grandhomme,
7. Lockie Ferguson,
8. Tim Southee,
9. Trent Boult,
10. Colin Munro,
11. Ish Sodhi,
12. Henry Nicholls,
13. Martin Guptill,
14. Matt Henry,
15. Jimmy Neesham

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad

Please enable / Bitte aktiviere JavaScript!
Veuillez activer / Por favor activa el Javascript![ ? ]